Reciprocal Transfer Agreements (RTAs)

RTAs are agreements between the Joint Board of Trustees (JBT) and the administrator of other pension plans to assist and facilitate transfers between the two plans.

The terms of the CUPE Employees’ Pension Plan (CEPP) standard RTA provide eligibility rules, describe how the transfer value shall be calculated and credited to the member’s account, and also describe all administrative rules.

Generally, an RTA may provide for higher transfer value than general portability rules.

List of RTAs as of January 1, 2023

Province Currently in Effect
British Columbia
  • College Pension Plan
  • Municipal Pension Plan
  • Public Service Pension Plan
  • Teachers’ Pension Plan
  • City of Winnipeg, Employee Benefits Board
  • City of Winnipeg Health Services Centre (HEPP)
  • Manitoba Municipal Pension Plan
Newfoundland & Labrador
  • Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
Nova Scotia
  • City of Sydney
  • Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS)
  • Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC)
  • Chauffeurs d’autobus de la Société de transport de la Rive-Sud de Montréal (STRSM) (Public Transit)
  • City of Montréal (Régime de retraite des employés manuels)
  • City of Montréal (Régime de retraite des pompiers)
  • Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d’assurances (CARRA)
  • École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Montréal Urban Community Transit Society
  • Québec Hydro
  • Retraite Québec (pour le Régime de retraite de la paix en services correctionnels – RRAPSC)
  • University of Québec
  • Régime de retraite des employés syndiqués du fonds de solidarité FTQ
  • Public Service Pension Plan (Government of Canada)